Pressing on

My quest to learn Japanese was interrupted by weeks of 12 hours shifts at work that decimated my concentration and energy. I am back however and I am continuing my pursuit of mastery of the kanji.

So far, I’ve learned 500 kanji. About 300 of them I know actively, meaning I know them well enough to use them at will. The other 200 I only know passively, that is, I can recognize them and know them when I see them in text. I am wayyyy past my 3 month limit to learn Japanese but I realize now that it was too ambitious of a goal so I’ve reset my timeline. I have now set the end of the year for me to know how to read Japanese and maybe even write it fluently. I will then tackle speaking Japanese fully.

Using Heisig’s Remembering the Kanji, I can usually learn anywhere from 30 to 50 kanji a day. However, much to my dismay, there are days when I don’t get to touch my kanji flashcards so the going is slower than I wanted.

Still, the die is set. I will learn Japanese and then I will learn Arabic. Other languages will follow. Of this, I am sure.

Thank you for stopping by!

Leave a comment