Inspired

Yeah, it’s been over a year since I decided to learn Japanese. I give myself a break however, because I stopped learning Japanese 4 months into it and was distracted by other languages. Recently however, I decided to really get into the study of Japanese. To help keep me focused, I registered to take the Japanese Language Proficiency Test on December Ist of this year.

So now it’s been 11 days since then and I am still flopping around like a fish on a dock. To be sure, I have learned quite a bit of Japanese. It’s just that I haven’t learned enough. I can communicate quite a bit but I am not fluent yet and more importantly, I don’t feel like I know Japanese. Obviously, I need to study harder.

I feel like I am about to go into overdrive though, because of newly found inspiration: Both Benny the Irish Polyglot and Alex Rawlings have decided this very week, to learn Japanese. Now, these two guys are legendary polyglots with well established methodologies for learning languages, so I am not going to try to compare myself with them but, it makes me giddy as a school girl to be learning the same language they are learning. I know that in 3 months, these two guys will be in Japan conversing like natives in Japanese. I hope that in 3 months, I can say I speak Japanese as well. Heck, I may even run into them at the Polyglot Conference in Montreal next year and speak Japanese with them.

Wouldn’t that be something!

Leave a Reply

