The pressure is on!

I just registered to take the Japanese Language Proficiency Test. The test was designed in Japan to test your control of the Japanese language. For me, this is the big kick in the pants I need to get me to study the language seriously.

I opted to take the hardest level, N1 because, what the heck! I either know Japanese or I don’t. I have the feeling I will fail it but I tell you, I will go down swinging! This means that in the next 3 months, I will study ONLY Japanese. All other languages will be put on hold.  By December 1st, 2013, the day of the test, I will be able to understand Japanese in oral and written form fully. Yeah, sure. No problem!

To accomplish this herculean task, I will pull out all stops. Luckily, the test is designed to assess comprehension which is kind of my super power. Also, I now have a MUCH better sense of how to study and what I need to learn plus, I have tons of resources.

I feel tremendous pressure now. I did one thing one MUST do in a situation like this and that is, I announced to my friends and family that was taking this test. The people in these groups, family and friends, are the most over-achieving bunch you ever met! Doctors, professionals, writers, musicians, etc, etc. So it would be a HUGE disappointment to let them down.

Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

